Skip to main content

The ADKAR model as the backbone for Change Management

Many companies believe that a brief explanation and a few training sessions are enough to prepare their staff for new technologies. Naturally, communication and training positively contribute to the implementation of change. However, the big picture includes more elements that need to be taken into account in order to achieve genuine behavioural change.

The ADKAR model is based on five phases which staff must complete to effectively incorporate a change into their daily routine:

  • A stands for Awareness: the user must understand why this change is necessary for the organisation.

“I understand why my company is migrating to Microsoft 365”

  • D stands for Desire: the user will only support the change if it brings personal benefits.

“Count on me! I’m happy to start using the Microsoft 365 tools”

  • K stands for Knowledge: the user can only change once there is an awareness of how the change process works, and he or she is given the right tools.

“I know how Microsoft 365 tools work”

  • A stands for Ability: rather than merely understanding how the technology works, the user must be able to use their new skills effectively in their daily tasks.

“I know how Microsoft 365 tools can help me perform my tasks more efficiently”

  • R stands for Reinforcement: building an environment which focuses on sustaining the change after it has been implemented.

“I will share my knowledge and remain open to new opportunities”

If you want to make a lasting change in your organisation and ensure that your colleagues fully embrace the new way of working, you need a people-change approach that guides your users through these five phases.

Do you want more information about our ADKAR-based change approach?

Contact us