Security awareness in Microsoft 365 starts with the user
Before the cloud era, corporate data were managed by trained IT specialists. Then came the cloud, which has led to a major change: today, the end users themselves are largely responsible for their own data. This shift does come with a downside – it wouldn’t be the first time that someone accidentally shares a document with the entire company when only the CEO was supposed to receive it.
It’s vital that employees are well informed about saving and sharing documents via cloud applications such as OneDrive, Teams or SharePoint.
Storing files in the cloud has its advantages: you can access them anywhere and it’s cheaper, safer and more reliable. Instead of e-mailing a file to 10 people, you can now share it and let 10 people edit it. They can even all edit the document at the same time! They can even all edit the document at the same time!
But how do you make sure you don’t lose track of which files you’ve shared, and with whom?
Sharing files through OneDrive
Let’s zoom in on how to share files through OneDrive. How can you see what you’ve shared with whom? Just follow the guide:
Go to www.office.com and log in with your e-mail address. Click the OneDrive icon on the left side (look for the blue cloud).
You’ll see a list of all the files you’ve saved to OneDrive. All files are set to ‘Private’ by default, which means that only you can see and open them.
OneDrive also offers the option to share files. f you do this, you’ll see ‘Shared’ instead of ‘Private’ in this column. This is one way to check if you’ve already shared a file.
Another easy way to check which files you’ve shared (and which files have been shared with you) is by clicking ‘Shared’ in the menu list to the left.
You’ll see 2 tabs at the top of the page: ‘Shared with you’ and ‘Shared by you’.
They list your files in a handy overview:
- Shared with you’: the files that were shared withyou
- Shared by you’: the files you’ve sharedwith others
Click the 3 dots next to a file and select ‘Manage access’ to see the people with whom you’ve shared it.
A window will pop up to the right showing more information about your shared file.
If you click the ‘Stop sharing’ option, you’ll stop sharing the file altogether. If this isn’t what you want to do, you can also remove specific people to withdraw their access to the file.
Be sure to check your OneDrive files regularly, as this is your first step towards security awareness!
If you’d like more tips on how to store and share files, just follow one of our Office 365 trainings (more specifically about Teams, OneDrive and SharePoint). For more information, get in touch with Xylos at email@example.com or +32 2 264 13 20.